08131733447, 08131734161 info@uch-ibadan.org.ng Mon - Sun: 24 Hours

Contact Info


The Department of Nuclear Medicine, UCH Ibadan was established by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in 2006 under the leadership of Professor B.O.A Osifo. At its establishment, it was the first nuclear medicine centre in Nigeria and maintains its reputation as the leading provider of nuclear medicine services and training in Nigeria. The department building is named after its foremost benefactor, Aare Afe Babalola, SAN and is located adjacent to the radiation oncology department.

The department is equipped with a single head gamma camera and a SPECT/CT gamma camera to provide nuclear medicine diagnosis and treatment services. In 2020, the Department expanded its radionuclide treatment facilities from two isolation rooms to 10 and by the feat is the foremost centre for radionuclide therapies in Nigeria. It also expanded its radiopharmacy and the new radiopharmacy suites is named after Mr Ademola Eleso in recognition of his tremendous support for early detection of cancer in Nigeria. The department is proud of its remarkable staff compliment including two fulltime nuclear medicine consultants, four radiopharmacists, highly skilled nurses, medical physicists, imaging scientists among others. Some of our services include

  1. Radioiodine therapy for Hyperthyroidism
  2. Radioiodine therapy for Thyroid Cancer
  3. Radionuclide Bone scans
  4. Radionuclide Renogram Scans
  5. Cardiac scans including MIBI and MUGA scanning
  6. Radionuclide thyroid scans
  7. PSMA SPECT scanning for Prostate Cancer
  8. Lymphoscintigraphy
  9. Ventilation Perfusion (VQ) scans
  10. Other Technetium (SPECT) scans.
Be the first to know!
Click for Aderts