08131733447, 08131734161 info@uch-ibadan.org.ng Mon - Sun: 24 Hours

Contact Info

Head of Department

Prof. A. A. Adeolu


Neurosurgery in Ibadan began as a unit in the Department of Surgery following the arrival of the first Nigerian Neurosurgeon, Prof. E. Latunde Odeku from the United States of America in 1962. This was also the year that the University of Ibadan became a fully-fledged independent University, having been a college of the University of London.

The Department of Neurological Surgery UCH, Ibadan was carved out of the Department of Surgery in the University College Hospital in 2006 and was one of the foundational departments of the Institute of Neuroscience in the same year. Professor Shokunbi was the pioneer head of the Department and Director of the Institute. The recruitment of Drs. A. A. Adeolu and A. O. Adeleye into the department in 2008, allowed for subspecialty practice, and the enrichment of student and resident’s training. Dr. Oluwakemi Badejo and Dr James Balogun were appointed into the Faculty as Neurosurgeons in December 2015 and March 2016, respectively and have brought additional expertise into the Department in the areas of Vascular Neurosurgery and Neuro-Oncology.

Headship of the Neurosurgery Department from Inception

S/NNamePeriod of Headship
1.Prof. M.T. Shokunbi2006-2010; 2013-2016
2.Prof. A.O. Malomo2010-2013
3.Prof. A.A. Adeolu2016-till date



  • The department has been at the forefront in the utilization of intraventricular neuro-endoscopy as a treatment option for the care of hydrocephalus in Nigeria.


  • Ibadan Neurosurgery continues to lead the frontiers in skull base neurosurgery with the utilization of available resources to produce effective results. The department also leads the frontiers in vascular neurosurgery with the clipping of a variety of intracranial aneurysms, spine neurosurgery involving anterior and posterior approaches along the spine, pediatric neurosurgery and neurotrauma.


  • The consultant staff of the department have continued to provide leadership in neurosurgery and neuroscience, as well as in medical education with Prof. A. O. Malomo currently serving as Dean of the Faculty of Clinical Science at the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan. He (Prof. A.O. Malomo) is also the current president of the Nigerian Academy of Neurological Surgeons, a position that had been held by another neurosurgeon, Prof. M. T. Shokunbi. Professor M.T. Shokunbi was also the Provost of the College of Medicine from 1996 to 2002.
  • The Department, despite the limitations within the system, has continued to operate between 250-300 cases a year and also run three (3) specialty clinics: general neurosurgery, pediatrics and spine.


The list of consultant staff within the Department as well as their areas of subspecialties are indicated below:

Professor M. T. Shokunbi:  Vascular/pediatric/Epilepsy/General neurosurgery

Professor A. O. Malomo: Neurotrauma/Spine/General neurosurgery

Prof. A. A. Adeolu: Spine/Neurotrauma/Skull base/General neurosurgery

Dr. O. A. Adeleye: Skull base/Paediatrics/General neurosurgery

Dr. Oluwakemi Badejo

Dr. James Balogun

Be the first to know!
Click for Aderts