08131733447, 08131734161 info@uch-ibadan.org.ng Mon - Sun: 24 Hours

Contact Info

Head of Department

Professor Adebola O. Ogunbiyi


The Department of Medicine was one of the ten foundation departments of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Ibadan which was established in 1948 and was formerly known as the University College, Ibadan. The other foundation departments were Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Preventive and Social Medicine, Pathology, Bacteriology, Anaesthesia, Physiology, Anatomy, and Clinical Biochemistry (now Chemical Pathology). In 1955, Radiology was established as a sub-department within the Department of Medicine with the creation of 2 academic posts (at the Lecturer’s level) specifically for Radiology, which increased to 4 posts in 1956, although the first appointment to a post in Radiology was not made until 1957. Later in 1963, Radiology became a full Department. The Department has grown over time in terms of personnel, number of students trained, international outlook, and research activities.

Professor Alexander Brown M.B.B.S., F.R.C.P. (Edinburg) was appointed the first Professor of Medicine and Head of Department in 1948. At this time, the faculty had a total number of 17 staff some of which included Professor A.O. Ajose who was a Professor of Preventive Medicine, Dr. H.O. Thomas, M.B.B.S., F.R.C.S., who was a Lecturer in Surgery, and Dr. F.O. Dosekun, B.A., B.Sc., Lecturer in Physiology. Over the years, the department has produced renowned Scholars and Physicians, some of whom include 4 Emeritus Professors namely: Emeritus Prof. T.O. Ogunlesi, Emeritus Prof. O.O. Akinkugbe, Emeritus Prof. A.O. Falase and Emeritus Prof. B.O. Onadeko. Below is the list of the Heads of the Department from inception till date.

Headship of the Medicine Department from Inception

S/N        NAME   DATE

  1. Professor A. Brown 1948 – 1969
  2. Professor T.O. Ogunlesi 1969 – 1972
  3. Professor O.O. Akinkugbe March 1972 – May 1972
  4. Professor B.O. Osuntokun June 1972 – Sept. 1974
  5. Professor E.O. Sofowora Oct. 1977 – Sept. 1980
  6. Professor A. Adetuyibi Oct. 1980 – July 1983
  7. Professor B.O. Onadeko Aug. 1983 – July 1987
  8. Professor T.O. Cole Aug. 1987 – Sept. 1989
  9. Dr. Awotedu (Ag.) Oct. 1989 – Nov. 1990
  10. Dr. A.F. Bella (Ag.) Dec. 1991 – Nov. 1992
  11. Dr. A.O.G. Adeuja  (Ag.) Dec. 1992 – Jan. 1995
  12. Professor A.O. Falase Jan. 1995 – Jan. 1998
  13. Dr. I.O. Olubuyide (Ag.) Jan. 1998 – May 1998
  14. Dr. A.O.  George  (Ag.) 1998 – May 2000
  15. Prof. A.O. Ogunniyi 2000- 2003
  16. Prof. S. Kadiri 2003 – 2006
  17. Professor A.O. Ogunniyi July 2006 – March 2009
  18. Dr. A. Arije (Ag.) March 2009 – 22nd May, 2011
  19. Professor B.L. Salako 23rd May, 2011 – 2014
  20. Professor A. O. Goerge 2014 – 2018
  21. Professor J. A. Otegbayo 2018 – 2019
  22. Prof. Ogunbiyi 
  23. Professor Olusoji M. IGE 


Today, the Department of Medicine has well-established units of Cardiology, Nephrology, Neurology, Hepatogastroenterology, Dermatology, Chest, Endocrinology and General Practice.  The department works in close collaboration with other departments in teaching and research programmes. It has a three-year clinical programme for the MBBS degree and four two-month courses of instruction and training in the Department of Medicine.  Similarly, the dental students undergo clinical rotation in medicine for the BDS degree. There is also the postgraduate teaching programmes which include M.Med and MD of the University of Ibadan.

The Department of Medicine consists of the Medical Out-Patient pavilion on the South West wing and 158 beds for admission of patients.  These beds are shared between the seven units of the department and new patients are admitted daily by the unit in charge of each week day.

The Department also offers special tests such as echocardiography, electrocardiography, electroencephalography, electromyography, gastrointestinal endoscopy, skin, liver, intestinal and renal biopsies, bronchoscopy, vitalography, skin sensitivity testing and clinical bio-chemistry. Additionally, it has an electronic workshop as a back-up for its equipment. Services are also offered in haemodialysis and kidney transplantation.


  1. Outstanding achievements of the Endocrinology unit till date:
  1. Accredited training centre in Endocrinology for residents in Internal Medicine, Ophthalmology and Anaesthesia for the West African Postgraduate Medical College
  1. Training of more than 14 residents in Endocrinology till date
  1. Local and International Collaborators of the Endocrinology Unit:
  1. Strategies for Improving Diabetes Care in Nigeria (SIDCAIN), …
  1. Center for Research on Genomics and Global Health (CRGGH) – the African American Diabetes Study, …
  1. Services offered by the Endocrinology Unit:
  1. Management of patients with Endocrine disorders
  1. Provides referral-based consultative clinical services across all areas of endocrinology, both within the hospital (inpatient) setting and in the outpatient clinics

iii.           Dynamic testing of Endocrine function

  1. Training of residents and medical students in the specialty
  1. A brief history of the Endocrinology Unit:

The Endocrinology unit started off in with the Department in 1957. The pioneer Nigerian Endocrinologist at the Department was Prof A. Adetuyibi. The other Consultants in the unit (past and present) include: Dr A.F. Bella, Prof O.O Famuyiwa, Dr T.A Akintewe, Dr A.O Akanji, Dr K.S Akinlade, Dr A.A. Fasanmade, Dr Jokotade Adeleye, Dr W.O Balogun, Dr Arinola Ipadeola and Dr Temilola Akande.

The Unit has carried researches on ……..with numerous publications in peer-reviewed journals resulting

The desired objective of the Endocrinology unit is to rise above our challenges and achieve a tradition of excellence in clinical services, training and research.

Be the first to know!
Click for Aderts