08131733447, 08131734161 info@uch-ibadan.org.ng Mon - Sun: 24 Hours

Contact Info

DSC_1473 rec

Mrs. Ezekiel

Head of Department



The establishment of a University College in Nigeria in 1948, which was affiliated to the University of London, with a proposal to establish a medical school and a teaching hospital, led to the need to train indigenous officers to man the first Medical Records Department. The Nigerians that were sponsored in this regard by the Federal Ministry of Health to receive training in Britain, underwent induction courses at the University College Hospital, Ibadan before proceeding to Britain for full professional training. Prominent among these were Justice Akpabio, Miss Williams now Mrs. Wari-Toby, Messrs Jagun, Kuruye-Alele and F.O. Omigie.


The school has gone beyond the original conception of its founders.  It has not only made phenomenal impact in the training of health information managers in Nigeria, but has over the years acquired international reputation and now, the school has become the preferred choice for the training of health information managers.

The school programme has recently undergone tremendous restructuring and redesigning, so as to provide students with the knowledge and skill to assist in planning, collating, organizing, disseminating, monitoring and managing vital information required at the local, state and federal levels in order to ensure effective and comprehensive national health care delivery.

The Hospital Management under the administration of Prof. Temitope Alonge (Chief Medical Director) increased the academic staff strength of the School by employing 12 permanent lecturers for the School. This development is a significant one resulting from the fact that the school had in the past considerably relied on guest lecturers. Now it has a viable staff force of capable lecturers.

It is worthy of note to state that the school has witnessed a ‘golden age’ since the commencement of the current administration in 2011. Some of the achievements stated above such as the accreditation of the School by the NBTE and the official recognition of the School by the Joint Admission Matriculation Board, were children of the tirelessness and quest for excellence and development of his administration. Additionally, during the Prof Temitope led administration, the school has enjoyed structural changes to its edifice, more lecturers have been employed, other required facilities have also been provided to upgrade the School.  All these have had a good impact on the outstanding performance of the students in external examinations thus leading to the production of graduates of high professional standards.

At inception, the management of the School of Health Information Management was joined with that of the Department of Medical Records. Thus, it would be impossible to speak about the history of the School without making adequate reference to the Department of Medical Records. The School however gained total autonomy in 2010.

The first Head of Department of Medical Records was Mr. R.P. Waye who was assisted by Mr. Lehan. Shortly before the retirement of the foreign officers in the Health Records Department, Mr. I. Ogbuah and Mr. A. Onasanya were sponsored to train in England in order to prepare them to take over the mantle of headship of the Health Records Department of the University College Hospital, Ibadan. Mr. S.I. Ogbuah later assumed headship of the department upon his arrival and was assisted by Mr. A. Onasanya. Mr Ogbuah later left the institution as a result of the Nigerian Civil War. After his departure, Mr F.O. Shoge who had earlier (in 1964) been sponsored to England by the Hospital to receive training, became the head of the department. During his tenure as head, the School of Medical Records and Biostatistics was established (in 1976). Mr. F.A.O. Shoge later retired voluntarily in October, 1989. After his retirement, Mr. P.A Adio took over as Head of the Department. He (Mr. P.A. Adio) continued as head until 1999 when he retired. After Mr. P.A. Adio’s retirement, there was a vacuum brought about by the belief of Mr. P.A. Adio that none of the records officers on ground were capable of handling the Department as well as the School. However, Mr. E.K.T. Atinsola was appointed in October, 2000 as Chief Medical Records Officer and Head of the department. The School was later resuscitated under Mr. E.K.T. Akinsola’s headship in 2003.

In 2010, the School moved to its permanent site. After Mr. Akinsola’s retirement in February, 2010, Mrs. A.F. Tubi took over as head of the department. She was succeeded by Mrs. O.A. Fadeyibi in 2011. It is pertinent to note at this juncture that on 7th of October, 2010, the School gained total autonomy which accorded it a separate identity from the Department of Health Records. This was as a result of the directive of the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) who made the autonomy of the School (from the Health Records Department) a pre-requisite for the School’s accreditation. Following the tenure of Mrs. Fadeyibi in 2011, Mr. O. Lanlehin took over the headship of the School.After several attempts, the School was visited by the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), on accreditation between the 27th and 28th of August, 2012. This is one of the feats recorded by the persistence of the Prof. Temitope Alonge led administration of the hospital.

Following the visit, the Board granted Interim Accreditation to the Institution to offer 2 streams of 30 students each of ND in Health Information Management with effect from 1st October, 2012. The Interim Accreditation allows the Institution to admit a maximum of the above stated class streams. Admission of students into the programme as indicated by the NBTE commenced with the set of students admitted during the 2012/2013 session.

Subsequently, the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB) was notified on the 6th of June, 2013 of the Accreditation of the School by the National Board for Technical Education, (NBTE). In view of this, the NBTE and JAMB, regularized the students of the School for mobilization for youth service on the 7th of November, 2013. Following the regularization and mobilization of the School, the JAMB, took over the responsibility of conducting the School’s admission examination. Presently, the name of the School has been included on the JAMB brochure.


S/NNamePeriod of Headship
1.Mr. F.A.O. Shoge1968-1976
2.Pastor P.A. Adio1989-1999
3.Mr. E.K.T. Atinsola2000-2010
4.Mrs. A.F. Tubi2011
5.Mrs. O.A. Fadeyibi2011-2016
6.Mr. A. Oluwatoki2016-2023
    7.Mrs Ezekiel2023 till date
Be the first to know!
Click for Aderts