You are here

Preventive Dentistry

The Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS) degree program was established in 1975 as a Department with the aim of producing highly skilled Dental Surgeons comparable to those trained in the developed countries.  The first set of Dental students started their clinical training in 1977 and the program attained full accreditation by the Nigerian Medical and Dental Council in 1978.The single Dentistry Department was split into four autonomous departments in August 1981.
The Development Committee of the Senate of the University of Ibadan approved the creation of these departments in 1985 and four departments in Dentistry were accorded full Faculty status in April 2002.  The Department would have been split into two at the creation of the four departments but for the low staff strength. Department of Preventive Dentistry in 1981 was one of the four departments at that time consisting of four different discipline/units namely: Periodontology, Dental Public Health, Paedodontics and Orthodontics.
The first Acting Head of Department was Dr. M.O. Noah and the current is Dr. Modupe O. Arowojolu.The staff strength in the department then increased to eight (8) and this has also brought up the€€ need for a split of the department to ensure compliance with the normal academic structure, the world over and as recommended by National University Commission (NUC) minimum standards. The department was then officially split into two departments (Preventive Dentistry and Child Oral Health) in the year 2004.

  1. Didactic and clinical teachings to Dental students.
  2. Laboratory instructions to Dental students.
  3. Community Health Program.
  4. Primary Health Program was established in  Idikan area of Ibadan and Igboora for the purpose of teaching dental students in community.
  5. Dentistry, for carrying out research and for rendering services to patients in a Primary Health Care Setting.
  6. The Department also conducts planned visits to Schools and Community.
  7. Research projects are assigned to students in their final year.



To be the flagship tertiary health care institution in the West Africa sub-region, offering world-class training, research and services.

© 2015 Information Technology Department

Get in touch

Contact us online